Website counter

Thursday, March 14, 2013

Boundary constituencies demarcating for Indonesian General election 2014

KPU Determined 2,361 
Boundary Constituencies of  
DPRD Province and DPRD District/Municipality

Komisi Pemilihan Umum Republik Indonesia (KPU RI) or Election Commission of Indonesia determined boundary constituencies or daerah pemilihan (short is ‘dapil’) for Parliament of Province (DPRD) and Parliament of District/Municipality (DPRD Kabupaten/Kota) across Indonesia on Wednesday (9/3/2013). Total number of dapil DPRD is 259 dapil and DPRD Kabupaten/Kota is 2.102 dapil.

In upcoming general election 2014, there are more dapils for Parliament of Province (DPRD) and Parliament of District/Municipality (DPRD Kabupaten/Kota) compared election 2009. The increase of population is caused the seats in one dapil exceed maximum 12 seats. 

DKI Jakarta as capital has 10 dapils with 106 seats for DPRD Province.

In general election 2009, there were 217 dapils for Parliament of Province (DPRD) and 1,851 dapils for Parliament of District/Municipality. West Jawa and North Sumatera were two provinces with the most dapils for Parliament of Province (DPRD) in Indonesia. They had 12 dapils with 100 seats each.

Central Java had 10 dapils and East Java Timur had 11 dapils, each has 100 seats for Parliament of Province (DPRD). Other provinces that had the less dapils were Central Kalimantan, North Maluku and West Papua Barat had 5 dapils with 45 seats each.

One of Commissioner of KPU RI, Ferry Kurnis Rizkiyansyah, said that in some provinces like Papua and West Papua the vast area and distribution of population are the significant differences  between one dapil and other dapil. The population is so dense in one area and in another place people live evenly. This can’t be avoided, because the determining of seat allocation refers to population. 

Ferry clarified that KPU designed dapils with consideration of all principles of constituency boundaries demarcation referred to KPU Regulation Nr 5/2013. KPU is very independent in demarcating. The process started from KPU Provinces and involved public participation. KPU National examined the results again to check all the aspects, whether it followed the principles of demarcating and determining of dapils. 

According to KPU Regulation Nr 5/2013, there are 7 principles of constituency boundaries demarcating: vote equality, fidelity to proportional electoral system, integrity of area, proportionality, in the same area scope, the cohesivity and sustainability.  

In average, most dapils have allocation seat between 6 – 12 seats.  KPU gives priority to dapils with many seats in order that the percentage of seats of any political parties get, will be the same with the vote they get in election. 

However, there are some provinces that have more dapils, means the allocation seats for them are 3-4 seats, it is minimum. It is happened in the provinces that has many islands or geographically is difficult to access. 

In upcoming general election 2014 there are 2,112 seats of Parliament of Province (DPRD) and 16,895 seats of Parliament of District/Municipality (DPRD Kabupaten/Kota) will be competed by political parties. We hope that the competition will be free and fair, with more promoting vision and mission,  in order to have a qualified election.  

No comments:

Post a Comment